Introduction

Welcome, I hope you are all well, this is an introduction on what content I will be bringing you on my new site and also giving you the chance to learn a little bit about me and my projects. Grab a drink sit back and relax.

I’m Daz AKA ” The Fish Room” a 28-year-old male from the United Kingdom, England. I have loved the fish keeping hobby for years but only recently got my 1st ever aquarium, you will see why later. Three years ago I bought my own house with my partner since living together we have done a great amount, getting married, a honeymoon and now expecting our first children which are twins, yes TWINS! The last three years have been truly remarkable and I can’t wait to see what life brings in the future. I have wanted to bring some sort of content out from myself with what I do in the hobby and all my projects I have in mind. Writing has never been my strong point but I believe this is something I will love to try and I hope you enjoy reading my work.

The hobby all began for me when I was 12 years old and my dad bought his first tank it was huge I can’t remember the exact size but from the day he filled it with water my eyes lit up and I was “helping” him daily, maintaining and stocking it. He had the tank for 3 years before having to sell the tank and the fish due to reasons I won’t go into, I was gutted. I said from that day as soon as I get my own house I’m having a fish tank in my front room no matter what. A year ago I sat down with the wife and said the wedding is done we have had the dream honeymoon I now have time for a tank as always planned and she agreed. February 2018 I went out and bought my own tank, a 240L LED Viva Line from Eheim.  I may not have had a tank for years but I would still go to local fish shops to look at the fish they had and think to myself what will I stock in my future tank. One day I went to a local fish shop about 6 miles from my parent’s house and laid eyes on these stunning discus fish, I fell in love with the species and quickly knew what I wanted to keep. I researched discus and asked many questions on Facebook pages and the answer I was getting that discus was very hard to keep. Hearing the discus was difficult to keep it made me want them even more. The amount of time I got told new keepers shouldn’t go with discus annoyed me but I did my research and today I sit here with a beautiful discus tank. I haven’t lost 1 fish (touch wood) as of yet, yes I have had sick fish but treated correctly and bought them back to a healthy life.

cropped-tank.jpg

You see a lot of people making YouTube videos on the hobby and their aquariums, something I would love to do but with the twins due in the next 2/3 weeks I wouldn’t have time to edit and record daily or even weekly episodes for viewers. I believe blogging and a Facebook page, for now, is the best way for me to get this project across to you all and works best for my current and future lifestyle. 

What can you expect from me?

I’m no way the best in the hobby and will never claim to be I have a lot to learn still, this is not an educational site if you do learn something that’s great but I can’t promise you will but please contact me to ask questions if I can answer them I will if not I will be honest and not feed you a bucket of lies to look good. I want this journey to be fun and something you all can relate to also HELP me in many ways which you will see over the coming months. 

I will also be sharing the following in future posts.

  • Fish shop reviews I visit and giving some information on the shop.
  • What equipment I use and why.
  • My aquarium setups and stocking.
  • My Quarantine routine.
  • My water change routine.
  • Discus Information.
  • The Fish Room Project.
  • Fish I want to keep in the future.
  • Updates on any future tanks.
  • Fish I want to own.
  • Much much more.

If this is a success and people attach themselves to it like I hope we could set up some giveaways of equipment or even vouchers for fish in the future but that’s a long way off. I also have so much to learn and want to do that from you guys along this journey. 

THE FISH ROOM PROJECT

Well the main factor, this project I hope to complete one day I don’t know when or if it will happen but it’s something I have dreamed of for many years. My very own fish room is something I will be aiming for in the future, I haven’t planned any of it as of yet I don’t even have a room allocated to it, my wife doesn’t even know of my idea it’s literally something I want to try and achieve with you guys. I have many factors to look at before we even go into much detail one of them is waiting for my twins to arrive and waiting until I have a routine set to make this dream room a reality. The wife coming on board will be the hardest part but if I get a following from my content she may be fine with the idea, maybe. I want to bring you all along on the journey involving you all on everything, including…

  • The design of the room
  • Tank stocking
  • Aquascapes
  • Breeding projects
  • Tank set up’s
  • Racking systems
  • Where to shop
  • Finances of the room
  • Rooms possible for the Fish Room (dimensions)

Basically, everything to do with the room will be made into content for me to share with you. This is the dream goal so along with many other posts, this project will run alongside them. I guess it’s a much smaller version of King D.I.Y Fishkeeper, someone who I love to watch and has made me want to produce content on my beloved hobby. 

I may have a slow start to this with the twins right around the corner but fear not this site will be something I want to put a lot of work into. Who knows when my life calms down we could see a video or two popping up, there are so many ideas I have it’s now putting them in place, hoping they entertain you. 

Thank you for taking time in reading the opening post and I hope you enjoyed it and will be back reading more content I throw your way. Below is my Facebook page so you can keep up to date on everything I do. 

Facebook Page – https://www.facebook.com/The-Fish-Room-309894252986047/

See you soon

The Fish Room!

Leave a comment